Fall NPT Newsletter now online. The fall 2014 quarterly newsletter of the Newburyport Preservation Trust has been e-mailed to members, and is also available to read online here. In this issue, the lead article is a recap of this season's progress at Newburyport's Powder House Park & Learning Center. In preservation advocacy news, you can also read about the outcome of NPT's formal appeal of non-enforcement of unpermitted demolition at 59-61 Bromfield Street, as well as NPT's continuing opposition to the proposed demolition of the 1846 former firehouse (Deluge No. 1) at 114 Merrimac Street.
The Powder House is a Trails & Sails headliner. This Sunday, September 28, Powder House Park & Learning Center will be open for tours from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. as part of the Essex Heritage Trails & Sails events. In addition to tours of the restored 1822 Powder House, visitors can visit a Civil War encampment. Musket-firings are scheduled for 1:30 and 2:30 p.m. Powder House Park & Learning Center is located on Low Street at Godfrey's Hill (across from Nock Middle School).
In this issue:
- Seasonal recap of progress at Powder House Park & Learning Center
- NPT loses appeal of non-enforcement at 59-61 Bromfield Street
- NPT contests proposed demolition of 1846 Deluge No. 1 firehouse building
- NPT seeks coordinators for historic house sign project